ESIA Board & Exec

ESIA Board & Exec

The ESIA Board of Directors is elected annually at the Annual General Meeting. Any Corporate or Associate Member may put forward a nomination.

Rod Woolley, President

Rod Woolley (BIT, M ProfAcc) is Managing Director of Yellow Door Consulting and Chairman of the Cyanergy (an ESIA Member), Solar Emporium and Smart Lifestyle Australia. Rod has many years of experience in the energy efficiency and renewable energy industries, and energy regulation. Rod was formerly a key member of the management group that founded and administered the Victorian Energy Efficiency Target (VEET) Scheme, renamed the Victorian Energy Upgrades (VEU) program in mid-2017. He had particular responsibility for administrative and legislative policy, approval of energy efficient products and stakeholder relations. Rod has a deep understanding of other energy efficiency initiatives around Australia including the state-based and state-administered: NSW Energy Savings Scheme (ESS), ACT Energy Efficiency Improvement Scheme (EEIS), the SA Retailer Energy Productivity Scheme (REPS); and the national Renewable Energy Target (RET) and Climate Solutions Fund (formerly Emissions Reduction Fund), both administered by the Clean Energy Regulator (CER). For many years, Rod worked as a journalist with the ABC, BBC and Financial Times of London. He also lectured in law and communications at University of New England and University of Canberra.

Hamish McGovern, Vice President

Immediate past President of the ESIA, Hamish McGovern (BE Elec, BSc, MBA) is Group Commercial Director of Northmore Gordon, a large-volume certificate creator under the VEU program and a consultancy helping large businesses to decarbonise and reduce their energy use. Hamish has worked in energy efficiency since 2011 and regularly participates in energy savings scheme stakeholder engagement initiatives. He has a deep understanding of the VEU, ESS and ERF deemed and Measurement and Verification (M&V) methods as well as the regulations and compliance requirements. Prior to Northmore Gordon, Hamish spent 20 years building enterprise IT & ICT solutions working in software development, IT infrastructure, sales, marketing and product management. Hamish is a founding contributor to the Climate Council and supports Environment Victoria and the Australian Marine Conservation Society.

Ric Brazzale, Treasurer

Ric Brazzale (B Comm, MBA) is the co-founder and Chairman of Green Energy Group, Green Energy Trading and Green Energy Markets and is President of the Renewable Energy Certificates REC Agents Association. He has participated in all State Governments’ initial advisory committees or processes for the development of energy efficiency schemes and has participated in Federal advisory committees in relation to energy efficiency. Ric was Executive Director of the Business Council of Sustainable Energy, the forerunner national peak body to the Clean Energy Council. He has more than 30 years of energy sector experience including a range of senior roles within private energy sector and infrastructure companies. Ric was inducted to the Australian Solar Council Hall of Fame in 2016.

Ben Henderson, Secretary

Ben Henderson (B Comm) is co-founder and Managing Director of The Green Guys Group and Director of OptiTech International. For over a decade he has focused on delivering energy efficiency, renewables, power purchasing agreements and micro-grid solutions for the Green Guys. Through the development of unique and vertically integrated solutions, the Group has delivered projects across 8,000 sites nationally. Ben has been involved in energy savings schemes since 2010, participating in many stakeholder engagements for the ESS, VEU and REPS and has engaged in the ERF. Green Guys Solar, a subsidiary, is a member of the Clean Energy Council and OptiTech is a member of the Lighting Council of Australia.

Stuart Edgley, Board member

Stuart Edgley is the Managing Director and founder of Emerald Planet, one of the largest lighting companies that operates within the energy savings schemes across Australia and which operates in international markets. He has been at the forefront of the carbon abatement market in Australia since 2005 with comprehensive experience in abatement schemes nationally, in business development, product development and sourcing. Stuart represents the ESIA on the National Lighting Energy Efficiency Advisory Working Group.

Jens Mozer, Board Member

(Jens Mozer (B Eng (Mech), MIEAust, CMVP, MVP, CEM, CEES) is a Director at EC Focus Pty Ltd trading as Energy Conservation, a trusted provider of energy and waste management services to commercial and industrial sectors across Australia. Jens is a qualified mechanical engineer, licensed air conditioning and refrigeration technician, approved Measurement & Verification Professional (MVP) under the ESS and VEU, accredited NABERS assessor, and has been delivering energy services in Australia for over 10 years. Jens graduated from Rotterdam University of Applied Sciences and worked at Cummins Holland before moving to Australia in 2009.

At Energy Conservation Jens is responsible for advisory and M&V activities including energy audits, ratings, energy management systems (EnMS) services, and M&V projects. Jens has been personally involved in Energy Conservation key contracts including with the NSW Environmental Protection Authority for a number of years to deliver waste assessments to small businesses under the Bin Trim program and to the City of Sydney to deliver energy audits for high-rise apartment buildings. Energy Conservation is a supplier on the Energy Business and Technical Services panel to the Commonwealth government Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources and contributes expertise and services relating to the development and implementation of business and technical services in the energy field.

Jens is a member of the Institute of Engineers Australia.

Leigh Simpson, Lakin Consulting, Board Member

Leigh Simpson (BBus) is a Director of Lakin Consulting, which provides technical and strategic consulting services to a broad range of clients within the energy efficiency sector. Leigh has been involved in the energy sector for more than a decade and is a regular and active contributor to working groups and program consultations to strengthen certificate programs, creating genuine abatement and market participation opportunities.

Leigh is also a co-founder of Qualified Group, supporting clients from around the world with technology focused communications and business solutions.

Prior to Lakin Consulting, Leigh was a director and general manager of an AP/ACP company focused on supporting large commercial clients through energy efficient upgrades in both Victoria and NSW.

Lakin Consulting is a member of the Energy Efficiency Council.

Jessica Lynch, Executive Officer

Jessica Lynch (BBusComn) is Executive Officer of the Energy Savings Industry Association, responsible for general management of the association including advocacy, member services and media. Jessica has decades of experience in communications and stakeholder engagement working as part of leadership and multi-disciplinary teams and diverse businesses. Jessica has worked with industry associations, blue chips, governments and authorities, SMEs, NFPs and start-up projects. She has worked with the ESIA Board since 2015 and has worked periodically in energy, energy efficiency and sustainability for more than 25 years. Jessica is the editor of ESIA Bulletin and publications, was founding editor of EcoGeneration Magazine, and worked with the Australian Cogeneration Association and the Australian EcoGeneration Association, forerunners to the Clean Energy Council.

Latest News

ESIA Members